BYH to those car owners who think more of their own comfort by running their engines in front of schools instead of...

Two towns have contested board elections


Ginger Livingston

Wednesday, July 10, 2019

The towns of Farmville and Winterville have contested races for their respective boards and two incumbent mayors have filed for re-election, according to the Pitt County Board of Elections.

Twelve people filed for office on Tuesday and Wednesday. This election cycle all 10 of Pitt County’s municipalities have elections.

Village of Simpson Mayor Richard Zeck, who is completing his first term, filed on Tuesday. Longtime Ayden mayor Steve Tripp also filed for re-election.

Three commissioner seats will be on Farmville’s ballot in November. Jamin Dixon and Carolyn Ward filed on Wednesday, joining Brenda Elks and Bert Smith who filed earlier. The three highest vote getters win the election.

The three highest vote getters also will win the three seats open on the Winterville Town Council. Incumbent Councilwoman Veronica W. Roberson filed for re-election, joining incumbent Tony Moore and Ricky Hines and challenger Perry P. Smith.

Also filing Wednesday were Ayden Ward 1 Commissioner Ivory Mewborn and Ward 2 Commissioner Cynthia Goff and Bethel Town Commissioner Ferrell Blount.

Four of the Town of Grimesland five incumbent aldermen — Eleanor Farr, Ted Bowles, Ronnie J. Bowling and Kyle Hodge — also filed on Wednesday. In Grimesland all candidates run as aldermen and then the board selects the mayor. Farr is the current mayor.

Filing for the 2019 municipal elections continues through noon on July 19.

List of Candidates



P.J. Connelly (I)

Council At-Large

Jermaine McNair

District 1

Monica Daniels

District 2

Rose Glover (I)

John Landrine

District 3

Will Bell (I)

David Nelson



Steve Tripp (I)

Ward 1

Ivory Mewborn (I)

Ward 2

Cindy Goff (I)


Board of Commissioners

Ferrell Blount (I)



John Moore

Board of Commissioners

Jamin Dixon (I)

Carolyn Ward

Bert Smith

Brenda Elks (I)


Board of Commissioners

Angela T. Gay


Eleanor Farr (I)

Ted Bowles (I)

Ronnie J. Bowling (I)

Kyle Hodge (I)



Richard Zeck (I)


Dianne Thomas (I)



Veronica Roberson (I)

Ricky Hines (I)

Tony Moore (I)

Perry P. Smith

From Today
Most Popular Stories